Newport News Public Schools TV and the Telecommunications Center

NNPS held its annual Track Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony, which was livestreamed on the Telecom student YouTube channel.

The event, which has been held for over 40 years, took place on Thursday, March 23, at the NNPS Administration Building Auditorium.

Six athletes were inducted: Marilyn Watkins, Michelle Stokes-Johnson, Darlene Guynn, Linda Walker-Gray, Asonya Anderson-Jefferson, and Darius Banks.

The ceremony was held in conjunction with the Conn-Madden Relays at Todd Stadium. That event was named for Newport News coaching legends Julius "Julie" Conn and Thaddeus Madden.

Because the ceremony was held in the School Board auditorium, the Telecom crew used the robotic cameras used for School Board meetings, which means they operate them from across the street in the Telecom building.

Telecom Supervisor Ray Price served as Director, and NNPS-TV Broadcast Engineer Mansoor Ahmed handled engineering.

Crew members included Telecom graduates Brandon Hedgepeth (Streaming Tech), Collin Smalls (Camera Operator), Muriel Gamble (Graphics), and Joshua Stuck (Audio). Telecom student Ryan Hedgepeth (Camera Operator) rounded out the crew.