Home  >  News  >  Memorial tennis tournament to air on NNPS-TV


Memorial tennis tournament to air on NNPS-TV
Memorial tennis tournament to air on NNPS-TV
Dr. Bicouvaris
Mary V. Bicouvaris in the classroom
Photo courtesy Greg Bicouvaris

The 12th Annual Dr. Mary V. Bicouvaris Memorial Tennis Tournament will feature four players from the Menchville High School girls' tennis team in a televised doubles match. Senior Violet Hahn and freshman Racquel Rizzi will take on senior Claire Spencer and junior Maelyn Platon on April 23 at 4 p.m. at Centre Court in Newport News. This will be the second year the tournament has been held at Centre Court.

This will also be the second year Hahn competes in the tournament, having won last year in a singles match against fellow Monarch Brooke Madden.

The tournament honors a local educator, Dr. Mary V. Bicouvaris, who taught at Jeff Davis Middle School, Bethel High School, Hampton Roads Academy and Christopher Newport University. She was the Virginia and National Teacher of the Year in 1989, and was recognized for her accomplishments at the White House.

Dr. Bicouvaris passed away in 2001, and has been remembered in this tournament ever since. Her son, Greg Bicouvaris, is the executive producer of the event, which will be broadcast on NNPS-TV (Cox 47/FiOS 17). Dr. Bicouvaris was married to the late Jim Bicouvaris, and in addition to her son, is survived by a daughter, Valerie Bicouvaris-Stamatakos.

Ray Price will co-produce the television broadcast, and Greg Bicouvaris, Marvin Hedgepeth and Sonny Dearth will provide commentary.

NNPS-TV Cox 47/FiOS 17 will air the 12th Annual Dr. Mary V. Bicouvaris Memorial Tennis Tournament on Saturdays and Sundays, May 5, 6, 12, and 13 at 4:00 p.m.   A webcast will be available at the same time on www.nnpstv.com.

Past Winners:

2001: Marvin Hedgepeth and Zach Vaughan
2002: Richard Parker, Fax McCandlish, Sonny Dearth, JoJo McCandlish
2003: Richard Parker, Bill Saunders, Sonny Dearth
2004: Hugh Spain
2005: Eric Christiansen
2006: Niclas Kohler
2007: Yakov Diskin
2008: Eric Christiansen
2009: Bill Saunders and Carter Ficklen
2010: Jessica Sain
2011: Violet Hahn